top of page

first day on the ward: 1/6

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

hey everyone,

so today I had my first session on ward 37!

(I've joined the project slightly late so Sharon has already done two sessions on her own which means technically this was session 3/8 but I'm only blogging my experiences so I'm calling this 1/6)

anyway!

so I was a little nervous before my first session on the ward, its very daunting going into that kind of environment for the first time and I was aware that it was most likely to be upsetting seeing people so unwell but I have done so much research on dementia for my project I felt fairly well prepared. When we went in it was a really lovely atmosphere, smiling faces everywhere, the patients had just eaten lunch so everyone was happy and settled and happy to have a chat with us. I felt comfortable right away with the support from Sharon and all the lovely nurses on the ward, I have to say I was surprised by how jolly everyone was, they must of had something good on the lunch menu!

Sharon and I went round everyone and said hello, seeing who would be interested in doing some art with us. It didn't seem to be everyones cup of tea but we had one patient who's husband was visiting so they came and got involved which was really lovely. There was also another patient who had been on the ward the previous weeks and him and Sharon got on so he came and chatted with us too but he was less interested in doing the art activities and more interested in giving Sharon a tattoo!

It was a really nice first session and I actually really enjoyed myself, the ward staff were really welcoming and supportive whilst we were there and everything ran smoothly!

I'm already learning so much from Sharon and the experience so far has been rewarding so I'm excited to continue with the next sessions.

I'm hoping next week we get a few more people doing some art but its hard to engage a lot of the patients if art isn't their thing but I'm feeling really positive so far:)

that's all for now

holly x




email: holly.clark1364@gmail.com




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page